More on makings

Let me carry on a bit about this concept of ‘making.’  In the white collar world, we spend our time interacting with systems and communications; in the blue collar world, we interact with tangible objects.  Most of the time, we work on sustaining these systems and things, so as to maintain our quality of life.  So far, so good.  But in the digital age, we easily forget to spend time interacting with the world of personal imagination.  And because of this, we no longer are involved in makings of our own on a regular basis.

We eat, sleep, and go to work, right?  What time is left to follow personal whims to their natural conclusions?  And yet, if you do make room in your schedule to actively pursue your muse, you’ll open to a new and thrilling reality that provides strength, optimism, vigor, and health.

Making is a human capacity that we often stifle these days.  People naturally want to put things together, to build.  We tend to understand this in the business world, where we focus on steady growth.  But in our personal lives, how many of us take our dreams and imaginings seriously enough to make something from them?  If you dream, for instance, of beauty, or bravery, or genius, or adventure, or freedom, or comfort, or anything, do you take the time to make it in some way? 

This expression of dreams is the ultimate reason for making, but being involved in making anything – from the imagination or more utilitarian – is a huge aid to the fulfilled life.  Using your hands to shape and build is the trick, whether it’s cooking, whittling, gardening, drawing, or any other making, whether it’s an expression of inner truth or simply a regular chore. 

Don’t let the high-tech world, which would rob us of all our chores and personal makings, usurp this essential part of your human-ness.  If you’re the business owner, figure out a way to inform your business through your involvement with personal makings.  If you’re an employee, use part of off-hours every day to work with your hands.  Restore balance by nurturing your nature, which has been sorely neglected by the automated world.

1 comment so far

  1. Ramesh Manghirmalani on

    I personally have gone through something like this in my life when I first graduated with my Bachelor’s degree. I was eager to make an impact with a national recruiting firm and found myself working around 70 hours a week in the office plus being on call staffing cases every other day and every other weekend in case something happened in the middle of the night. I found the compensation when I first started to be quite worth it as I felt pretty fresh. After a few months, I was really starting to feel worn down and found myself frequently only getting a couple of hours of sleep every evening. Things got to the point where I could not see my friends, family, or anyone else because so much of my life was devoted to this organization. I ended up resigning my position after I mentally and physically could not handle the constant stress all the time. Now I really have a nice mix of being able to spend time with friends, family, and being able to work. My philosophy of the situation is I work to live, not live to work. If things go past that point, the career is not all it is cracked up to be


Leave a Reply

